The power of the imagination

Having been in tis industry for a while now I sadly rarely come across enough people that truly live fearlessly according to the imagination.

Often ideas, proposals and presentations can get a response of fear of trying to do something more unconventional.

How can it be interesting to recreate the same thing over and over again??

I get asked so many times by people wanting to do restaurants: “I want to do a NOBU, I want the same or simelar menu as Nobu”

I heard this request almost at every meeting I have with new investors.

To have a restaurant like Nobu/or a star studded Japanese high class restaurant is the ultimate accessory for someone who is looking to establish themselves amongst the rich a famous.

People dont realize that there was something that happened at a certain time to specific people in a way that can never be replicated. One only sees the successes he has, but not the journey of how it all happened.

This is very unique to these people and it will never be the same for you. By trying to copy is like kind of cheating your own destiny.

I dont see the need to photocopy anyones success or to replicate a chefs menu and therefor prefere to formulate my concept by having full faith in the creative process and imagination.

There is always bound to be influences from other chefs in anyones work, of course, but I feel it is more important that there was some short of personal process involved rather then just copying.

Creativity can have many different processes it’s never just one way. Sometimes there is also paralel thinking or thought.

Sometimes I have an inspiration and someone in a completely different country whom I never meet had a very similar or even same Idea. That always makes me smile how amazing that phenomena is.

This is also another way to see creativity:

I once painted a picture when I was small which stated below: Dare to be different. I feel it is quite natural for me to want to think differently most importantly to think by myself irregardless of what other people say.

 

So why is it that potential owners/ investors or partners feel such a fear of the imagination/ of thinking differently?

My guess is that it does take courage to invest into the imagination however nothing comes more easy to me then to do exactly that!

There is no other way and therefor I dont mind to be the homeless chef as I know I am on the right journey of being exactly were I need to be inorder to arrive to the restaurant of our dreams.

Here are words that reassure me that what I feel is good and that I can fully trust in this …..

The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: his eyes are closed.
Albert Einstein

“The power of imagination makes us infinite.” John Muir


“Everything you can imagine is real.”
― Pablo Picasso

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Eleanor Roosevelt

“Yes: I am a dreamer. For a dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.”
― Oscar Wilde

“You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.”
― Saul Bellow

“Imagination is everything. It is the preview of life’s coming attractions.”
― Albert Einstein

“There are painters who transform the sun to a yellow spot, but there are others who with the help of their art and their intelligence, transform a yellow spot into sun”
― Pablo Picasso

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.”
― Gloria Steinem

“There are no rules of architecture for a castle in the clouds.”
― G.K. Chesterton

“The tree which moves some to tears of joy is in the eyes of others only a green thing that stands in the way. Some see nature all ridicule and deformity… and some scarce see nature at all. But to the eyes of the man of imagination, nature is imagination itself.”
― William Blake

“I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge. That myth is more potent than history. That dreams are more powerful than facts. That hope always triumphs over experience. That laughter is the only cure for grief. And I believe that love is stronger than death.”
― Robert Fulghum

“I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” 
― 
Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

